Is It Worth Fighting a DUI in California?

Is It Worth Fighting a DUI in California?

If you are arrested for a DUI (driving under the influence), the consequences of your crime can be severe and damaging, and it may be difficult to manage them all. You could face several months in jail time and be forced to pay a fine up to or exceeding $1,000. You may also have your license suspended for six months if it’s your first offense.

The punishments can be severe, even on your first offense, but the right legal representation can help you fight against the DUI and lessen your charges. If you’ve been charged with a DUI, you may start to feel stressed and anxious over your future. However, this doesn’t have to be the case.

The Penalties for DUIs

No one who is arrested for DUI will have the same exact penalties as others, but there are general penalties that everyone may face when convicted. In fact, the penalties for a first-time offender can include any of the following:

  • Up to six months in jail
  • License suspension of at least four months
  • Three months of a DUI program
  • Three to five years of DUI probation
  • Fines and fees totaling at least $3,000

These penalties are minor compared to multiple offenses, and even then, these can be devastating for certain offenders. Also, these penalties can apply to any type of driver, including commercial drivers and underage drivers. The penalties also become stricter if your case caused any accidents or injuries.

If you’ve been convicted and worry about any of the consequences you may face, your best option would be to seek legal assistance immediately. An experienced DUI lawyer can defend you in court and lessen or even eliminate the charges against you.

How DUIs Can Change Your Life

When someone is convicted of a DUI, not only can they be met with strict penalties, but their record will show that they were arrested for DUI, which can lead to other issues. Someone convicted of a DUI may struggle to find housing or a job, have their reputation damaged, or could lose their driver’s license. It’s understandable to fear that your life could change forever due to one offense, which is why it’s crucial to have the right legal team to fight for fair results.

By navigating a DUI case on your own, you risk overlooking specific details that a lawyer may pick up on. Should you receive damaging penalties, you may also regret not having legal representation who may have been able to lessen your penalties to ensure you would have a brighter future. This alone is enough reason for many to fight against DUI charges with an experienced lawyer on their side.

Fortunately, if you have a DUI on your record, you may be able to eliminate it if you meet certain requirements.


Many people convicted of a DUI have worked tirelessly to improve their lives and do the best they can with what they have. However, they may struggle to find a job due to failing a background check. This is where the expungement process comes into play, and some people may qualify for this.

For offenders who are experiencing damaging consequences for their DUI, such as the inability to secure financial aid or housing, an expungement can help them eliminate the DUI from their record. If you have completed your probation or jail time, you may be able to petition the court for expungement. After a judge reviews your case, they’ll determine if the DUI can be removed. Just like fighting against a DUI when it occurs, an attorney can help you fight for expungement, as well. This will allow the process to become easier, and your odds of success can increase as a result.


Q: How Do I Defend My DUI in California?

A: The best method in defending your DUI is to hire an attorney who can guide you through the process. They can help you lessen any penalties you receive by defending you in court. Regardless if you have legal representation, you also have other defenses, such as challenging blood tests and unreliable sobriety tests.

Q: Is California Strict on DUI?

A: California takes DUI cases very seriously, but the penalties are more severe for people with multiple offenses. DUI is considered a crime that can apply to all drivers, whether licensed, underage, or commercial. DUI offenses can result in thousands of dollars in fines and up to six months in jail. In order to fully understand how strict California is on DUI, contact an attorney as soon as possible.

Q: How Likely Is Jail Time for the First DUI in California?

A: Jail time is not mandatory for first-time offenders, but you can still receive up to six months in jail depending on your case. Sometimes, jail time will be reduced to 48 hours, or a judge may replace jail time with probation or community service. While there is no set amount of jail time for all first-time offenders, it’s important to note that you can still receive jail time even for your first DUI offense.

Q: What Is the Best Defense for a DUI?

A: Having a lawyer defend you in court is the best defense against your case, as each case is unique. If you took a sobriety or breath test, your lawyer may be able to argue that they were unreliable. If you were driving poorly rather than driving under the influence, you may be able to use that claim to avoid a DUI charge. Ask your lawyer regarding DUI defenses that are specific to your case.

You Can Fight Against a DUI

In California, our DUI lawyers understand how serious DUI charges are. At the Law Office of Daniel P. Flores, we can help you understand the process, including what defenses you may be able to use for your case. Without the proper legal help, you may risk facing immense penalties that can otherwise be lessened or avoided.

If you have any questions or concerns regarding your DUI case, contact us immediately and we’ll be prepared to assist you.

Recent Posts



Request Your
Free Consultation

Fields Marked With An “ * ” Are Required

"*" indicates required fields

I Have Read The Disclaimer*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.