Do You Always Go to Jail for a DUI in California?

Do You Always Go to Jail for a DUI in California?

Getting charged with a DUI can be overwhelming and even frightening. Regardless of whether it is your first, second, or third time getting a DUI, you may find your mind racing with numerous questions such as, do you always go to jail for a DUI in California? It is critical to know the kinds of California DUI penalties that you could face. That way, you can know what steps you can take to minimize the impact they can have on your life.

What Classifies as a DUI in California?

Driving Under the Influence (DUI) refers to driving a vehicle with a blood alcohol concentration of .08%, assuming you are over 21 and driving a non-commercial vehicle. If you are underage, on probation, or driving a commercial vehicle, a DUI has stricter qualifications.

DUI convictions are commonly associated with alcohol, but you can also face DUI charges if you are under the influence of other drugs, such as marijuana, certain painkillers, and over-the-counter medicines, as well as other substances.

Is Jail Time Required for a DUI Offense?

Jail time can feel like one of the most overwhelming penalties, especially if you have never faced the possibility before. If you are a first-time DUI offender, know that, even if you do serve a minimum amount of jail time, you will not be sent off to a prison with hardened criminals for an initial offense. You can also work with a seasoned lawyer to try to prevent jail time, such as by working with a judge to choose probation, DUI classes, or other consequences instead.

How the California Vehicle Code Makes It Seem Like Jail Time Is Required

The California Vehicle Code lays out rules, regulations, and consequences for motor vehicle usage in the state. Section 23536 outlines that a first DUI violation should result in a minimum of 96 hours in jail, at least 48 of which need to be continuous. This makes it seem clear that every DUI offender will spend a minimum of 96 hours in jail.

Laws and codes are always complex, however, and further sections of the code indicate that an individual serving probation may have the 96 hours reduced to 48 hours. In practice, it may even be possible for jail time to be avoided entirely, although it depends on the judge’s decision to waive the requirement. This is most likely to happen if an individual has a strong legal advocate partnering with them.

Jail Time and Additional Penalties for a First-Time DUI Offense

For all DUI cases, whether it is a first or repeat offense, there are various types of consequences and a range of lighter or heavier penalties within those categories. If this is not your first DUI, the consequences will likely be more severe than those laid out below. Understanding the possible penalties can help you understand your situation, allowing you to discuss priorities and concerns with a supportive lawyer more effectively.

  1. Jail Time: While it is occasionally possible to avoid jail time, it is likely that you will face a minimum of 48 hours in jail. You could face up to six months, depending on your conviction.
  2. Fines: For a first-time DUI offense, you could pay $390-$1000, plus potential other penalty fees that may add up to thousands of dollars.
  3. Probation: You can face up to five years of probation after your first DUI offense. Probation means that you need to be particularly careful about driving sober, as a second DUI offense can lead to more severe consequences.
  4. License Suspension: You can have your license suspended for 4 months or longer.
  5. Additional Consequences: You can face a number of other penalties, such as mandatory DUI school, needing to install an ignition interlock device, points on your license, having a DUI on your record, etc.


Q: Is Jail Time Mandatory for a DUI in California?

A: If you are arrested for a DUI, it is typical for police officers to initially book and register you at the jail. Assuming that it is a first offense and no one was injured, you may be released after a couple of hours. Longer jail sentences may be given as a DUI penalty, but that requires the court to convict you first. You can work to reduce your jail sentence to its minimum or try to get it waived. Most individuals serve a minimum of 48 hours of jail time, however.

Q: What Is the Typical Sentence for a First-Time DUI in California?

A: First-time DUI offenders can find themselves dealing with multiple consequences, including:

  • Up to $1000 in fines
  • A suspended license
  • Mandatory DUI school
  • Points on their license
  • Up to six months in jail
  • Up to five years of probation

Depending on the ruling, a driver may deal with one, several, or all of these penalties. A minimum of four months’ license suspension and some amount of probation are fairly typical.

Q: Can a DUI Get Dismissed in California?

A: Yes, it is possible to get a DUI dismissed in California, but it can be challenging. Ways to get a DUI dismissed may involve:

  • Proving errors in a sobriety test
  • Showing that the traffic stop was unnecessary and uncalled-for
  • Demonstrating that law enforcement did not follow correct protocols when administering a sobriety test

If it is your first DUI, your prosecutor may be more lenient. Having legal representation can significantly help in getting your DUI dismissed.

Q: How Do You Beat a DUI Case in California?

A: Beating a DUI case usually means getting the case dismissed by the courts or getting your charges reduced. Working with a seasoned lawyer is often the first step to an optimal DUI case outcome. A lawyer can help you:

  • Build as strong a defense as possible.
  • Work to get your charges eliminated or lessened.
  • Negotiate a plea deal if getting your case dismissed is not feasible.

Contact The Law Office of Daniel P. Flores

If you are facing DUI charges of any type, having a seasoned lawyer to come alongside and partner with you can make a significant difference in your sentencing. If you are particularly concerned about serving jail time, working with an attorney can help you work toward a more optimal outcome and may reduce or even eliminate your jail sentence. No matter what situation you find yourself in, The Law Office of Daniel P. Flores wants to support you. Reach out today.

Recent Posts



Request Your
Free Consultation

Fields Marked With An “ * ” Are Required

"*" indicates required fields

I Have Read The Disclaimer*
This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.